Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I was removing my data tool and where the wiring enters the loom where I couldn’t reach I (like a total knob) decided to snip the wiring before it entered the main bike loom.

This obviously to me now was a total dick move! The electrics all still work but the fuel pump does not kick in now and the bike won’t start.

I’m a total novice as you would have guessed and have rang a couple of local garages but none want to touch it. I’ll post pics in the morn to show where I’ve cut and I was thinking of buying a 2nd hand loom off eBay (around £80) and take the old one off to replace with eBay one (like a reset) but I’m out of my depth with it.

But if it’s a case off maybe resetting a couple of wires that have been spliced? Then I’ll try that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. the weather atm is gorgeous and I’m really missing riding which is all down to me been stupid.

·
You should listen to me. No, seriously, listen to
7,636 Posts
Well at least you're acknowledging your folly.

'I was removing my data tool and where the wiring enters the loom where I couldn’t reach I (like a total knob) decided to snip the wiring before it entered the main bike loom. ... The electrics all still work but the fuel pump does not kick in now and the bike won’t start."

This doesn't make that much sense. In my book the fuel pump is part of the electrics. We need some good pics. The colors of the cut wires would help. You're probably going to need a new harness and installing it is not a trivial matter, particularly for a novice. Beware of any ebay harness. It is very common for them to be flawed with cut leads, etc.

P.S. Download the service manual if you haven't yet. The wiring diagram is at the end.

·
7,636 Posts