Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Taught Goatsee everything he "knows"
12,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im still a gun noob here but have a question about recoil. It affects the accuracy of my aim a bit when shooting as the gun jumps up slightly.

Is there a way to hold the gun to reduce recoil, ex: arms bent or arms straight? Or would you just aim a little lower than intended to compensate for the upwards movement.

Another question. Up to how many feet are handguns accurate?

·
Premium Member
1,657 Posts
The bullet leaves the barrel before your rifle moves. Are you sure your not flinching or anticipating recoil? I know that is something I had trouble with when I first started.

·
12,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im shooting a handgun. Dont they recoil too or am I using the wrong term to describe the slight kick when it fires. :scratch

·
Premium Member
1,657 Posts
Every firearm recoils. Its still the same principal though. The bullet is gone before the muzzle rises. There are different pistol shooting stances but I prefer the isosceles stance. Try different stances until you find one that works for you. If you can find a NRA pistol coarse near you. Proper instruction in invaluable, especially before you form bad habits. I had some I had to break.

Accuracy depends on caliber and barrel length.

·
12,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Accuracy depends on caliber and barrel length.
I know that, just wondering whats the general range for a handgun. I should of been more specific. Curious about the range in accuracy for most 9mm handguns that are avarage fullsize.

I have a M9 and I was shooting up to 40ft at the range.

Use this to get a sense of what your doing wrong. Its for right hand shooters, if your left just let me know.

http://www.reloadbench.com/pdf/files/TargetRightHanded.pdf
Thanks. Pretty useful. :biggrin Like the chart.