Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading some post yesterday I realized that there were tons of new guys without any real cornering experience. So I thought I would mention some things to help some of the newbies in the right direction and maybe, just maybe, make the ride safer and more enjoyable. I am no expert but I have learned for myself some of the pitfalls of cornering the 1K.

Please Feel free to make any comments or suggestions.

First off I recommend you buy yourself a book. Keith Codes "Twist of the Wrist II". This is very informational about how you need to take a corner and will help you overcome some of the Survival Mechanisms that will put you on the ground.

Cornering: One of the things that is tought in racing schools is to start rolling the throttle on as you are coming through the apex of a corner. With the GSXR1000 this is not recommended. The problem with rolling the throttle on mid corner is the surge of power you get when you crack open the throttle. When you get the surge you may spin the rear wheel leading to a high side or low side depending on how hard you give it gas. I have found from my personal experience that it is better to brake up into the corner and crack the throttle open as I am starting my line. This puts the majority of the weight on the rear tire(where it should be) and you just continue to roll it on as you go through the corner. This way you don't have your weight distribution changing mid corner either.

Now where should your rpm's be? I personally like to go into a corner around 9000 rpms and come out just about to bounce off the rev limiter. This is really hot for a lot of guys and really helps your exit speed. So for the new rider I do not recommend this.