Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not an expert rider and I know skill-wise it's an endless process of improving and learning. That being said, I just realized something last night while looking through a mag. In all of the pics, the riders hands are notably outside or of greater with than the shoulders. I even looked at pics of a lot of you guys and the same thing. My problem is, I have extremely broad shoulders. Even in my best shape, I have to where a 2X and still the seam doesn't quite sit right. This creates a stance where my arms, if held straight, angle significantly inward and my hands are in between my shoulders on the bars instead of even or outside the point of your shoulder. With arms bent, like when I ride, I've always noticed a lack of leverage and my wrists are somewhat strained at the angle. Two my friends who ride very well, who are not small guys, don't have that problem because their shoulders aren't as broad as mine.

I noticed riding my friends streetfighter which has a wider bar, that the feel and leverage is completely different and feels much more secure and locked in turning into a corner and I thought how much better that stance would feel on my bike

I had this same problem on my road bike and tri-bike and had custom handlebars made so that my hands were on the outside of my shoulder points. I noticed an imediate improvement in breathing since my chest was not "opened" up and just felt more sturdy on the bikcycle.

I'm wondering if the same would be had on the Gix... if I should consider finding a long clip-on to widen my stance to where it rests with just about everyone elses.

·
Registered
2,298 Posts