Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

Been trying to find some info regarding the 750 -97. I have been offered to by one to a really good price, but I have no experience of this bike (I have a 1100 -88 WOHOOOOO... LOVING IT!!!!!). Are there any common faults that one needs to check up that it has been fixed? What are the pro's and con's of this one (I believe that it is the first one in that series?) vs the -98 or -99?

Greatful for all tips and non-flames

Best regards

Fredrik

Ps. Just for fun, How much would you pay for a 750 in good condition (Yeah, I know, but what do You feel is 'good condition'....) in your country. I live in Sweden so pardon my f*cked up spelling

·
Registered
4,102 Posts
Since you live in Stockholm, home to all those street racer videos, you'll probably feel slow on anything smaller than a bored out Busa.

The '97 750 is carbed; the switch to FI occured in '98. No big deal, you'll just have some extra tinkering to do...and no TRE mod for you!

I'm running a '98 600 and the primary thing that gets me thinking about an upgrade is making the switch to FI. That, and maybe a bigger engine obviously.

The '97 is a great bike. I'm not positive, but there may have been a cam chain tensioner recall on 750's of that year. Might want to look into it.

Re: price...is the bike in perfect shape? Any add-ons? To give you a ballpark figure, you can check the Kelley Blue Book value.

PS- someone was selling that exact bike in Toronto during the summer. Mint bodywork, full D&D exhaust, Stage 1 jet kit, and 20K km's. He was asking $6,200 Cdn (a little under $4K US)

[ 11-28-2002, 07:30 AM: Message edited by: Brolo ]

·
Registered
1,096 Posts