Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i just bought this 00 600 i'd like to do a tune up on it being that it has 32k miles, basics change plugs, wires, oil, ect
so what is involved in changeing the sparkplugs? what kind do you guys run and at what gap? any input is appriciated

·
Registered
3,779 Posts
you don't need iridium spark plugs for you bike. as long as you get good ones like the manual recommends... either denso or NGK plugs, you'll have no problems at all. they are pre-gapped too. I don't know of any plugs that are not.

·
Premium Member
26,407 Posts
NGK Iridiums are just as good as Denso's and half the price. I just picked up a set for $6.95 a plug at a local parts store.

·
Registered
923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks guys, bare with me im totally new to the bike scene are the plugs down the center of the valve covor or are they on the side of the head? do i need to pull the tank off to get to them?

·
Big Willow FTW
3,771 Posts
there in the center of the valve cover. you need to remove the air filter box to get to them. its very easy. also you dont have to do anything with the fuel lines. just lift the tank and pull the air box off and there u go.

brent

·
Registered
951 Posts
It iridium plugs will have nothing to do with throttle response over the regular plugs......unless you are replacing wasted plugs.

They just require a little less juice and stay cleaner.....equalling easier startups over time.

I use them to aid in the cold starts, and that they did.

·
Registered
210 Posts
I have actually put iridum tip spark plugs in my bike and it ran stronger than the regular NGK plugs. My original plugs were not fouled or anything the iridum tips do make a difference.

My 2 cents.

·
Registered
134 Posts
ngk iridium is the way to go. if you've got a pep boys in your neighborhood, get them there. they'll run you over 1/2 the price a dealership would charge you.

·