Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now I know I might sound dumb but im no mechanic
. I've had to buy a new chain after too many wheelies has made me stretch the old one
. Ive heard that you have to remove the swinging arm to get the old chain off. If this is the case then how difficult is the job to do. Ive worked on motorcross bikes before but nothing like this, a friend of mine has offered to help.

·
Registered
5,804 Posts
no no no you dont take the swing arm off
the old chain is either broken using a special tool -chain breaker or most people use a dremel to cut through a link
you then link the old chain to the new one while its still on the bike and thread it through using the old chain (saves the hassle of removing the front sprocket cover)
do a search you'll find loads of how to's better than i can explain
or ak dan uk he'll pop round and fit it for you j/k

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
It is just like your dirtbike... You cut the chain and put the new one on. I would not use a chain breaker on the old chain.. They tend to break the tool..

John

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Now I dont mean to sound stupid but I was told the chain was a solid loop and if thats the case how the hell can I fit it unless I move the swingarm. Again sorry if I sound like a twat but I have never done this before

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
The chain that is on your is a solid loop... And because you will close the loop on the new after you put it on, it would then be a closed loop as well...

Have you ever changed a chain on your dirtbike??

John

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
No mate I havent. I cant get my head round how it goes rond without breaking the loop I must just be dumb

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I havent recieved the chain yet do you get it as an unbroken cahin or does it come as a loop

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts