Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, and thanks for reading. I really appreciate the time anyone takes to help with this process.
I am still pretty new to motorbikes, so this is going to be a learning process.

Motorbike does not start.

Turn the key on.
Rev needle goes around the clock and the fuel pump primes.
Clutch in and hit the start button and I just get a click, the starter does not turn over.

Where do I start?

·
Registered
4 Posts
I don’t know too much, just learning my own bike also. Try adjusting the clutch cable on the handlebars OR while the clutch is pulled in, slowly let out while hitting the start button. Maybe something just as simple as that.

·
Dreaming of buttsecks for years...
14,323 Posts
Two things. 1) Can you push start it? 2) How old is the battery?

·
Registered
508 Posts
I don’t know too much, just learning my own bike also. Try adjusting the clutch cable on the handlebars OR while the clutch is pulled in, slowly let out while hitting the start button. Maybe something just as simple as that.
Really? It's priming and clicking when he hits the start button. Sounds a lot like a battery needing charge?

·
Captain Obvious ... because obviously it’s obvious
4,019 Posts
If you don't feel like push-starting it, put it on a charger or hook up jump cables and see if it starts. If it does, it's battery/charging system related. If it doesn't, then we're going to start looking at the starter components.

·
Premium Member
510 Posts
Battery. 12.7v. You will need a multi meter. Buy the best one you can afford.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Don't think it's an issue with the clutch switch, but thanks for the suggestion. Everything seems tight and working as it should be there.

Two things. 1) Can you push start it? 2) How old is the battery?