Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!

I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first time posting (besides the intro post). My '86 750 is a spectacular bike, but is stuttering like mad at 3/4 - WOT. Here's what I know:

-Compression is solid on all cylinders
-142.5 jets (which I upgraded to 150)
-Yoshimura Exhaust
-K&N Pod Filters
-brought the carbs to a local shop to do a complete clean. God only knows if they actually got everything, but they're a reliable good shop.

Upping the jet size did seem to help a bit, but didn't eliminate the problem.

There's a set of BST36SS carbs on fleabay right now for $280ish shipped. Is that a good price? Should I stop throwing things at these carbs and just get the BST36SS and the Dynojet Stage 3, or can I get something solid out of these.

I have multiple other projects I'm knee deep in right now (Volvo 140 with Mikuni HSRs that I can't get to run lean enough, and a coolant leak just sprang up), so if you think I can solve this by going up another jet size or two, and then worry about the carb swap next winter, that's PROBABLY a better idea. Also if that carb isn't a smoking deal and better to wait, I'd love to know that.

Thanks all! Super excited to be part of the forum. I'd post a link to my CX500 build thread, but haven't reached my 10 yet!

·
Squid
3,564 Posts
If you can find a spare set of carbs for your bike in decent condition I'd jump on it. If I had more cash I'd be buying up heads, cases, everything before it becomes unobtanium.

Does the stuttering stop above 3/4 throttle?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If you can find a spare set of carbs for your bike in decent condition I'd jump on it. If I had more cash I'd be buying up heads, cases, everything before it becomes unobtanium.

Does the stuttering stop above 3/4 throttle?