Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the middle of doing a simple low bugget cafe bike right now....
It started out a 2 owner 12,000 mile 1979 GS 550. In pretty good condition. I bought down in Alabama for $350.00.
I am doing the entire build in my little barn "bike shop" myself. And I know, some of you are going to think that going "cafe" is played out, or part of the ongoing "fad". But I have been making my early muscle bikes into Cafe style rides since I started riding. It's the style I like, don't matter to me if it's trendy or not.
I brought it home and got it to fire up in about 30 min. Then started tearing it down. Stripped it down a bit and checked out the clubmans.....they look so cool dont they ....

I layed out and drilled the front rotor , ordered some cool rear shocks, repainted a bunch of the front end parts. Then rebuilt the forks with progressive springs.

Im doing a set of carbs for it right now.....

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Then I started cleaning the frame and engine up a bit...thought the engine would look good in low gloss black....Going to leave the head bare aluminum, and it will be running a black 4 into 1 Jardine NOS header with black wrap......

Got a cool black chrome projector beam headlight assy. Painted all the triples, headlight bucket ect in high gloss black .....

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As I said earlier, I am working on a set of carbs right now. It came with Mikuni VM22's. I got a set of KZ 650 VM 24's from a friend, and I am dissassembling that rack and my rack of VM 22's. Then I will reassemble the 24mm VM carb bodies on my GS 550 rack.

·
Premium Member
24,541 Posts
Excellent project:cheers
Is the first pic the condition the bike was in upon purchase? If so it looks amazingly clean for a 33yr old bike:eek:hmy