Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The steering on my 2018 jobby is slow and cumbersome and takes away a bit of the fun. I think it's caused by the super sticky Dunlop GPRaces D212 tyres. I love the grip, so sticking with them.

It feels as though the steering damper is too tight.

Are there any suspension changes that can quicken up the steering a bit ?

I used to get free track suspension setup when I was in the UK, and they did something to make it quicker. About the same time as we started using D212s

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
26 Posts
I'm no expert for giving advice. But I know running lower tire pressures (30 psi) on my '18 was contributing to slower steering. I found 35 psi to be a good compromise.

·
Registered
133 Posts
My brother has a Suzuki GSX-S1000FA and the standard tyre was the Dunlop D214 190/50 series and as it wore down the shape got decidedly flat across the tread and as a result, his steering became slower and much the same as you seem to have described it. In the end he had to fight it when going into corners. He recently changed to Bridgestone T31 190/50 which has a much rounder profile even though it is still a 50 series, and now he cannot believe just how nimble his bike is to throw around corners.