Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was just out at my bike to try and replace my CCT, but realized I don't have a hex key tight enough to get in there.

So now I have a couple questions about replacement.
1. Can you remove the CCT without removing the valve cover and zip tying the cam chain to the sprockets? Or does that absolutely need to be done?
Is it as easy as just loosening the two bolts, sliding out and putting the new one in with a new gasket?

2. Anyone have a tool suggestion that will work, I was about to go buy a stubby hex wrench to hopefully get into that tight space. The frame really blocks a lot of access to the CCT. And if anyone happens to know the hex size I need off the top of their head let me know too because I'm about to go look it up.

This is my first time doing this so thanks for the help (y)

·
Premium Member
964 Posts
When you release the cam chain tensioner, CCT, The loaded valve springs move the cam to a resting spot, this can jump a tooth on the cam sprocket. Considering the damage that could happen, I would not shortcut this procedure.
Is there a problem removing valve cover on LO 750 ?

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good to know, saw a few people mention to do it, but also read about some that don't. Just wanted to make sure how big of a deal it was. Easy enough to get the cover off anyway now that everything is clear of that area.

·
Premium Member
964 Posts
Gasket is reusable a few times, grease it up and it will slip into place. Bolt washers could have some Hi temp sealant if the rubber feels hardened. Allen key can be cut down with grinder.
Why the CCT change ? 100k.
Good how to here.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Great thanks. 43k right now, just had valve clearances checked, been really chattery on cold start, thinking it's the cct.

Reactions: craigfer63

·
Registered
L1 750
137 Posts