Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i recently bought my bike around 4 months, and everything ran great. and the other day the bike wont start. it wont even turn over anymore, does anyone have any suggestions as to what to check first?

·
Registered
661 Posts
1. Battery terminals (check for good connection)
2. Fuses

If you want more help than that, you're gonna have to give us somemore information. Like do the headlights come on? Does it make any noise at all when you hit the starter button? Any lights or diagnosis messages on the instruments?

BTW, welcome to GdC. :cheers

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
okay i bought a new battery, checked my fuses, and everything is good. when i turn it on the lights come on, its just that when i hit the starter button, it makes no noise what so ever. since i am pretty new to this whole bike thing, i dont know what to do next.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
^I think he's talking about the fuel pump, if so yeah is there a noise coming from tje tank when you turn the bike on. have you checked you're relays? I believe there is a starter relay but I could be wrong.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
okay, like i said before the battery is fine, the fuses are good, when the bike is in the "on" position, the lights come on and everything, it just doesnt turn over (makes no whirling noise what so ever). and the bike does have a starter relay, could it be that, or what else should i check?

·
Registered
230 Posts
that would be my guess also. check to see if its disconnected at the switch. happened to my friends sv650. they spent 4 hours checking the bike and it took me 8 seconds to tell them the switch was unplugged.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
Kennedy said:
Try putting up the kick stand and putting the bike into neutral.