Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2000 srad 600 i cant seem to get running right. There is a hesitation at around 4k rpms that takes a few seconds to get through under acceleration. I have cleaned the carbs, set air mixture screws 3 turns out, and synced the carbs. all jets and needles are stock sizes. it does have a k&n air filter and yoshimura exhaust.

main jets are 130 and132.5
pilot jets are all 12.5

I am still fairly new to carburetors and i am enjoying the learning process but it is starting to be a headache and any help would much appreciated.

·
Registered
697 Posts
Air mixture 2.5, have you checked for vacuum leaks. When you had the airbox off did you check the pipe on the rhs of the box 13881-34E50 . And the pipes at the front & "t" junction ( good fit\tight ).
Both jet sizes are correct.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The pipe on the rhs looks like it has been completely covered in rtv or black silicone maybe to cover a hole or crack. Vacuum lines all seem good. The 2 vent t's are definitely worn and looks like someone has added a secion of small tubing to fit inside the t's instead of around. Maybe this isnot allowing much air to get through. Should i look into a jet kit since there is an aftermarket air filter and exhaust?

·
Registered
697 Posts
Jet kit not at the moment ( dont spend on hope to fix could cost mega $). Sounds like someone has been trying to find the leak ( which is causing the air leak\hanging idle ) Link below,particular attention to ccmhunt was a resident srad carb guru at one time.

·
Premium Member
4,274 Posts
there is a lot to look at and verify, you have

clip position
float height position
jet sizing

then you have to INSURE all passageways are clear and moving at volume, meaning some aren't semi clogged so forth..