Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I was hoping you could answer a question for me. I have a 1993 Gsx-r 750w with a Yoshimura RS-3 full exhaust, air box with K&N filter. I am not the original owner but I believe the rest of the bike to be stock. Can you help me with the carburetor settings? Jet size, needle, etc. I have tried a couple different main jets and needle setting but keep having the same problem. The bike starts and idles ok and really flies on heavy throttle but the mid range (cruising speed) between 4-6 rpm is terrible, it stumbles all over itself and is miserable to ride. I am an alright mechanic but sometimes get lost in terminology, so if you could 'dumb down' your answersI would really appreciate it. Thank you all for your time!!

Dying to ride,

Dan

·
Has been Texan longer than the cheerleader
26,430 Posts
ok start with telling us what jets and needle clip you are at right now. How about your mixture screws, how many turns out are they?

Do you know what jet kit it has in it, Factory Pro or Dynojet?

Where are you at? Location...... elevation.....

·
Registered
4,895 Posts
GixxerRacer317 nailed it,pull the carbs and start from scratch,do it once and do it right,there's no guessing when it comes to jetting.Pull the carbs off the bike and remove the pilot,main, needle jets, and emulsion tubes,Record all the numbers on all the jets and note what notch the needle clips are at,also note how many turns out the pilot screws are.You will need to check float height as well. If the emulsion tubes have no part # I would bet that you have a factorypro kit in it,if there are #s on it then you probably have a dynojet kit,or you may have a hacked on turd that some jerkoff butched and should start from scratch...Keep posting...good luck

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·