Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I am new to Gixxer.com, however I regularly look for info without having logged in. Anywho, I have purchased a lovely 1991 GSXR 750 and it has been sweet as (absent having to helicoil the sump plug).

I have now run into another issue. Basically, every time I give it hard throttle (regardless of what gear the bike is in) the whole bike shakes and makes a loud clank noise :hammer.

Is this a gearbox rebuild, or could it be the front sprocket and chain being too loose?

Any help would be legit.

Cheers from NZ

·
Premium Member
168 Posts
As I read your post and when you began by saying "the whole bike shakes" on WOT regardless of gear, at first I thought you might be dealing with a fuel delivery issue through the mains, but then later when you mention "clank", I became concerned that it is either something other than your chain and more serious or a combination of more than one thing going on.

Is it possible that at WOT the bike is shuddering because the fuel delivery circuit through one or more of the carbs is dirty and the bike is shaking/sputtering because of that and therefore the loose chain is clanking around in response to a very disruptive fuel flow? In the past, I have had such an issue with the bike shaking under WOT in any gear and it was indeed a carb issue that was resolved with a cleaning/rebuild. Since your bike is new to you and the condition and history of the carb maintenance may not be known, I bring this possibility up as a potential issue contributing to your situation because the shuddering sounds very similar to what I experienced, although I did not have any clanking. Therefore you may have two things going on here.