Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Re-posting this as I originally had it in General discussion.
Grateful for some ideas on why my bike won't start. The bike was running beautifully about 6 years ago before it went into storage. I did start it every six months or so and usually it kicked over first go. I recently tried to start it and it backfired so badly I thought I'd been shot! (yes I was stupid and didn't drain the tank of old fuel). I decided it was time for some maintenance and pulled the carbs out and cleaned them up. I stripped it completely but did not touch float heights or do bench sync. I'm fairly new to carbs work and assumed this would be ok given it used to run well. I did put in new diaphragms though as I got carb clean on the old ones and didn't want to risk using them as they might perish. Bike started first go when put back together but idled very high and kept rising (about 3000rpm) - guessing it needed syncing.

Anyway, I left it to sit another 12 months due to other priorities and I now seem to be back to square one. Bike barely starts at all now (yes I drained the tank and carbs and added new fuel). The best description I can give is that it is very hard to start and when it does it splutters at idle, won't really rev and sounds like it's running on two cylinders. When it stopped whispy light smoke continued to come out of the muffler! I noticed that exhaust headers 1&4 where very hot but 2&3 were stone cold! I checked for spark and that was OK, perhaps a little weak on one plug but relatively OK. Bike had new plugs when I cleaned carbs.