Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hey im new to the sport and i am gun collecting horny.

just purchased a .45acp springfield xd tactical full size stainless, and not long ago a 9mm browning hi-power markIII.

im wanting to add to my collection a 12 gauge.. for home protection, t arget shooting, and possible bird hunting...

looking for some reccomendations and the 101 on the 12 gauge.
as far as pros cons vs. the pump, semi-auto, lever action, break action...... i would imagine that pump would be the "funnest"....

brands/price/best bang for buck...

and a little confused on shells as far as "ought" buck goes...

ive saw a mossburg i beleive which seems to be a common brand that had an interchangeable 12/20 gauge barrel full camoed... it was 479? at walmart...

just looking to add to my collection, and home protection/target shooting/skeet/bird hunting....

all thoughts appreciated, i am new to long guns, other than a .177 bb gun:)

·
PM me for Brotection
57,513 Posts
I'd say you'll get the most versatility out of a 12ga pump. It gets down to religious debate as to which is preferred, Remington or Mossberg. They're both fine weapons, although I hear the Mossberg's quality has gone down some on the newer ones. This is hearsay, because I haven't looked to see it for myself.

I use Remington's at work, so the choice was obvious for my personal gun, get a Remington because I'm used to them. Not that the Mossy is very different to operate, but still.

There's a load of parts out there for both the Remington 870 and the Mossberg 500. You could easily make my same pump shotgun setup out of a Mossberg. Winchester and Benelli make good shotguns as well.