Should I be worried that the previous owner used regular gas in my bike? - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Winner

Should I be worried that the previous owner used regular gas in my bike?

I bought the bike used at 17k miles, he said he always ran regular gas, even though the manual says it should use a grade of at least 91 octance. Even since I took over, I drained the gas in it and put in 92 octane fuel with some seafoam. Should I be worried or is it fine. Someone on the forum here said that since it is FI, the electronic will always adjust the different fuels. Idk guys, I'm a noob.

Edit: I mean it does have an M-4 slip on with the cat delete (obviously), a K&N air filter, and a PC and the SET is disabled and wide open.

Last edited by JamesIsMe; 03-29-2019 at 12:36 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 12:50 PM
Uses squid tentacles as a butt-plug

Motorcycle: K4 750
Re: Should I be worried that the previous owner used regular gas in my bike?

Its fine just gets dirty faster.
MacBayne likes this.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 07:25 PM
Chubby Chaser

Motorcycle: 2005 GSXR-1000 (track), 2006 GSXR-600 (track/race)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesIsMe View Post
Should I be worried or is it fine.

I dunno, was the bike pinging/detonating while you were riding it with regular unleaded in it?