Track days - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 02:57 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Winner

Motorcycle: 09 GSXR 600
Track days

Ok so im interested in doing track days after going to the bike show and talking to a guy from the penguin racing school.
I have no track experience and consider myself an above average aggressive street rider.

I have also heard about tony's track days and absolute cycle.. is there any benefits one school has over the other?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 07:06 AM
Hand-Eye Coordinator

Motorcycle: 2014 675R, 2019 Husky TE300i, 2014 Grom. Yes, Grom, fuck you, it's fun.
Re: Track days

above average, aggressive street rider, hey? prepare to get humbled.
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 08:19 AM
Dreaming of buttsecks for years...

Motorcycle: Anniversary Edition 600 & 2018 Harley Street Glide
Garage

^^^ what he said.

You think you're a good rider until a control rider rips past you, turns backwards, rides one handed, and points to the line you should be one. They're doing this while you're thinking you're at the edge.....

As for the differences between schools.... just read reviews. I doubt anyone has ever attended both and can give a real perspective which one is better.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 09:34 AM
Chubby Chaser

Motorcycle: 2005 GSXR-1000 (track), 2006 GSXR-600 (track/race)

Penguin's a good one, its run by Eric Wood. Keith Code's California Superbike School and Jason Pridmore's Star School are 2 other good ones. Pretty sure they all go to NJMP at some points throughout the season if you are interested in actually doing a school first.
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 09:43 AM
MotoGP

Motorcycle: Whatever oldgixxer has in his garage...
Garage