Track advice - how to carry more speed in corners? - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Turd Burgler or Twat Waffle...your call.

Motorcycle: 2003 GSXR 600
Track advice - how to carry more speed in corners?

I think the issue is mostly mental / confidence. This is not my first time on the track but I'm a track noob.

Recently on a local track I was in a session mostly riding by myself. In the next session I was following a group and improved my lap time by 10 seconds. That is a big difference on a 2 mile track - don't you think???

The difference was the speed I was carrying through the corner. I think by having someone in front to chase I was able to "feel good" (?) about the speed and go faster.

Any ideas or constructive advice on what to do to be able to go faster without anyone in front of me? More track time is gonna help but what else would you focus on?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 06:02 PM
Lifetime Premium

Re: Track advice - how to carry more speed in corners?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndiGIXXER View Post
I think the issue is mostly mental / confidence. This is not my first time on the track but I'm a track noob.

Recently on a local track I was in a session mostly riding by myself. In the next session I was following a group and improved my lap time by 10 seconds. That is a big difference on a 2 mile track - don't you think???

The difference was the speed I was carrying through the corner. I think by having someone in front to chase I was able to "feel good" (?) about the speed and go faster.

Any ideas or constructive advice on what to do to be able to go faster without anyone in front of me? More track time is gonna help but what else would you focus on?