Excellent Carb Service! - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-16-2014, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Motorcycle: 1998 GSXR 600 - Yoshi RS-3
Excellent Carb Service!

Hi everyone. I wanted to take some time to say thanks to a member who has recently helped me out alot. So here's the story.

In March I purchased a 98 GSXR 600. It was in pieces and was in the "non-running" state. The story the kid gives me is that he bought it with a bad valve and he decided to do a lap job (I know) and now she won't go no more. Claims it ran like junk before. Alright I go and check it out. Hey she aint bad. Minor cosmetic flaws. 40,000km on the clock. It cranked ok. Sounded fine. Very little air moving out the pipe when I checked it while cranking. I gave him. 900$ and i took it home.

Im a heavy duty mechanic. I pull wrenches all day. Ok. Keep it simple. Checked timing, literally kid timed it 180 degrees out. Wow. Ok. Now I get nervous. I am not sure at this point if any contact was made between components. It sounds great cranking rotationally. Ahh. What the heck. Fresh charge, emptied and filled tank and timed it per the manual. Huzzuh! She's alive. Does not run well. Some ugly black smoke. Oh man. I hope she this thing isn't toast.

Did some compression testing. Yup. We got some low numbers. Did some cylinder pressurizing. Ewww. We got some bad valves too. Ok. Let's pull the head.

Rebuilt head from machine shop. All together. Running ok. Not great. Well. Let us investigate them carbs. Bingo. Greenest carbs I have ever seen. I cleaned them and replaced everything. Did a good job. Still this bike will not tune. It just isn't right. I start doing some heavy researching and decide I think my needle jets are worn, bad.

Enter CCMHUNT.