• 1 Post By 94gixxerod
  • 1 Post By DJaye.
  • 1 Post By oldgixxer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-18-2016, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Motorcycle: 1993 GSXR600W
My 6/11 Project

What's up everybody, new here. I suppose I'll give you a long boring background story before I get started.

For a few years now my primary streetbike has been a 1993 GSXR600W. Over the said past few years, I have (foolishly) spent massive amounts of money to make this thing ridiculously nice. While it may be the slowest, heaviest, goofiest 600 ever built, it's been extremely good to me through thick and thin. I love it, and I'd trust it to go to California and back. And I personally can out-ride all these dumbass rich kids around here riding daddy's brand new 600, so it works out.

However, I started riding with a few new groups of people this season and ALL these dudes have literbikes; GSXR1K's, S1000RR's, RSV4's, Panigale's, you get the idea. Now I could care less about racing people, but I AM trying to get to the destination on the same calendar month as these guys, ya feel me?

So, I started looking around for a new bike. I'm a mechanic at a dealership and I play with literbikes all day- awesome, but I don't want to let myself get one- I'm just not responsible enough, honestly. SO, I look around like crazy for the end-all solution: the GSXR750, best real-world streetbike ever etc... Even contemplated financing a new one. But after some thought, I don't need any more debt and used ones, being the best streetbike ever, are unfortunately priced accordingly.