need help: which gsx-r 1000 to get - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-26-2016, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Squid

need help: which gsx-r 1000 to get

Howdy. I know i'm beating a dead horse, but I feel i've done my share of research on the topic, yet still wanted to get some more clarifying thoughts to help make a decision

First up - a little about me: I'm 6'1", 190lbs. I've been riding bikes for several years on-and-off, mostly friend's bikes. Early this year, picked up a 1st gen SV650S as my first bike to really get some riding time on with a goal of 4-5,000 miles before moving on to something more serious that i'd own for much longer. Getting close to that goal, would love to stay with suzuki family and am seriously considering the GSX-R 1000 as the successor to the SV...

So the question is - which year? From my research, seems that a whole lot of praises got to K5-K6 gen. My only concern - I want to get something newer (funds aren't too critical here - i can spare an extra $1-2K for a newer bike).

But it seems like starting with K7, reviews tend to turn more negative, mostly claiming to technology getting stale while competition (honda, yamaha, kawasaki) continuously advance...

So i had a few questions, and all in all would just welcome some advice...

1) For K7-K8 seems like the added weight due to dual exhaust is one of the biggest culprits... is it fair to say that getting an aftermarket single can would pretty much solve the difference from the earlier generation? Or are there other significant differences between those generations?

2) I've seen a few rave reviews on the revamped K9 which seems like has gotten quite a significant redesign... how does it compare to the K5-K6 generation? Besides the similar dual exhaust (i believe) issue, is there still significant upside to the earlier generation bikes?