Seriously, you dont need expensive tires on the street : Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums: Gixxer.com
» Insurance
» Suzuki GSX-R Prices
» Sponsors
Go Back   Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com > General Discussion > General Bike Talk

Old 11-21-2010, 07:54 PM   #1
treyZ28
HEY GUYS! I'M A LAWYER AND AN ENGINEER!! SRSLY, LOOK AT ME! a lawyer AND an engineer!!!

Seriously, you dont need expensive tires on the street

First off, I in no way claim to be a good rider. In fact, this video would almost certainly serve as an example of things not to do than things to do. I suck, no doubt about it.

I want to make a point- you don't need super grippy tires on the street. I was riding on regular old Diablos. They were cold (you see me pulling out of the pits) with no tire warmers on a 70 degree day about after 8 hours after it rained. The tires probably have about 100 laps on them and they are about 80% gone. They aren't even getting tear on them. The bike is, outside tires, a bone stock 2008 CBR 1000RR.

This pace is about 10 seconds off my best and I've NEVER had the tires slip on me or even feel like they were slipping. While I am far from anything resembling fast on the track, this is harder than 99.99% of street-only riders CAN ride and harder than almost anyone should ride on the street.

Also, I'd like to point out that the camera is a bit crooked, so it makes it look like I'm leaning a bit harder to the left than I am and bit less when I lean right. I'm down to about 1/8th" chicken strip in the front IIRC.

Obviously, if you do track days with your street bike, that's a totally different story. If you don't do track days, and especially if you've never dont track days or very few, your hyper sticky tires are worthless.

treyZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-21-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
bikedude135
Rookie

Motorcycle: 07 gix 600, 08 z1000
Re: Seriously, you dont need expensive tires on the street

word.