removing 600 srad v cylinder head-TITAN STRENGTH 10mm bolts... : Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums: Gixxer.com
» Insurance
» Suzuki GSX-R Prices
» Sponsors
Go Back   Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com > Gixxer Forums > SRADs (97-00 600 and 96-99 750)

Old 04-18-2009, 10:27 AM   #1
greekguy
Novice

removing 600 srad v cylinder head-TITAN STRENGTH 10mm bolts...

holly s..t those bolts are hard,

i have replaced my seized srad 600v engine from a srad 600 x model

curious- as im studying to be a mechanic i started dismantling the seized engine

i removed the camshafts+guides
i have removed the 3 6mm sidebolts that connect cylinder haed to cylinder BUT!
the 10mm wont budge....

the bad thing that in there the only thing that can reach the 10mm bolts are deep sockets, problem is that for bolt size 12 the only deep socket i have is 1/4inch ...

so i put my 3/8 to 1/4 bluepoint adaptor to my snapon ATECH2FR100 torque wrench and i tried to untorque.

MY MISTAKE WAS THAT I DIDNT CHECK THE UNTORQUE SEQUENCE AND STARTED UNTORQUING RANDOMLY.....

so according to service manual i untorqued numbers 10 9 8 7 and number 6 broke my 3/8 to 1/4 bl;uepoint adapter!!!!! ARGH!!!! cursingcursing

-i must say that my ATECH2FR100 counted 100nm before breaking the adaptor....

Snif snif,
what should i do now? what tool do you use to untorque these?
its so tight in there.........
maybe a DEEEEEEP 12mm 1/2 socket? it must be reaaally deep before it fattens for the 1/2head????

please provide a picture of the tool that you use....

(im studying to be a motorcycle mechanic but my school is closed right now due togreek easter)

Last edited by greekguy; 04-18-2009 at 10:31 AM.
greekguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2009, 10:59 AM   #2
greekguy
Novice

Re: removing 600 srad v cylinder head-TITAN STRENGTH 10mm bolts...

do you have a reason not telling me the answer that i seek?

I KNOW that there are mnay ppl here that have removed their cylinder head!