SCAM? YAY OR NAY... [Archive] - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

: SCAM? YAY OR NAY...


jOn750
08-11-2005, 03:24 AM
I emailed a guy about a bike one ebay and this is what he sent me, sounds fishy so if it is a scam maybe this will help someone out, I think its a scam...seems WAY to good to be true...2800 shipped...hes takin a huge cut

Hello,
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my bike.I know that are numerous offers on eBay and I'm glad that you choose to contact me regarding your willingness to purchase.
I am the first owner of the bike. You will receive your bike by FedEx Freight International at your home address. It is insured in case of damage and it takes 5 days to be delivered at your door. I will send you the bike with all the papers you need to register it under your name. No damages, no scratches or dents, never touched the ground, no hidden defects, the engine doesn't smoke, runs and sounds awesome, the engine has never been repaired or something like that,never been into accidents. The bike is an US model with US specs (the speedomeeter is in miles), comes with all the documents you need to register the bike (manual,clear title in my hand, bill of sale signed by me).
I recently moved to Italy and I have to let you know that the bike is here with me.
I didn't paid for Italy import taxes and if I'll keep the bike like that I'm going to lose it. Time is really an issue and we have to move fast.
The price I hope to obtain is $2800 (this price includes the shipping and insurance) and if you agree with this price we can start to complete the transaction.
Price is good cause if I pay taxes here and sell it here would get the same price if I sell it in US from here. You will not have to pay additional taxes cause the bike is registered in US, just only the price for it.
For the payment we will use eBay Square Trade as a trusted, licensed third party mediator. The most important thing in all my activity here is that I am affiliated at eBay Square Trade. I have a purchase protection account for $10,000 and I assume you know what this mean.In case we will close this deal, you are protected by Square Trade. How you are protected by Square Trade, well, in case you will not receive the bike as I described to you, Square Trade will refund you with 100% from the whole amount which you paid.
If you are interested in this deal email me with your name and address where you want me to ship the bike,so I can open a case with them. You don't have to worry because I'm in Italy because I'll get paid only after you receive and inspect the bike and only if the bike is just as you expect it.
If you decide to go further let me know asap.

Best regards,

Kidder
08-11-2005, 03:29 AM
It's a scam. Those are all over e-bay, cycletrader, etc. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/nono.gif

If things are usually too good to be true, it's because they are. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/bitchslap.gif

TelfonoMvistr750t
08-11-2005, 03:36 AM
scam iv seen that same one before in cycle trader...exactly....

spike52
08-11-2005, 03:42 AM
"because I'm in Italy because I'll get paid only after you receive and inspect the bike "

Sounds legit.. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/wtf.gif

PhynixBrd
08-11-2005, 03:46 AM
It's a scam. Those are all over e-bay, cycletrader, etc. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/nono.gif

If things are usually too good to be true, it's because they are. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/bitchslap.gif


+1
I don't think it is worth the possible hassle and stress.... leave it alone! http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/disappointed.gif

gsxr313
08-11-2005, 03:49 AM
I read the first two sentences and could tell it was a scam. On a side note, I'm about to purchase a 2005 CBR 1000rr with 379 miles for $3500.00. I emailed him and said I work for the airlines and can fly anywhere in the world and would be there with cash in hand and interesting enough....I haven't heard back from him yet. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/wait.gif http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

itchin2
08-11-2005, 04:08 AM
Yeah, you can tell by the language of the scammer, not too articulate but trying too hard to reassure...plus the overseas thing. No good. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/nono.gif

gsxrjones
08-11-2005, 04:48 AM
def. a scam.

nataSdroL
08-11-2005, 05:32 AM
I read the first two sentences and could tell it was a scam. On a side note, I'm about to purchase a 2005 CBR 1000rr with 379 miles for $3500.00. I emailed him and said I work for the airlines and can fly anywhere in the world and would be there with cash in hand and interesting enough....I haven't heard back from him yet. http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/wait.gif http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif



http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif nice

jOn750
08-11-2005, 06:10 AM
lol, thanks guys, hopefully this made some helped someone!

GBTweedy
08-11-2005, 06:22 AM
here is how the scam works. They tell you that you will use Ebay escrow. Ebay does not provide escrow! Second they will want you to send the money to the escrow agent not the company. Scam. Third they want you to send the moeny western union.

What they do is list as a three day auction, most ebay users do the standard 7 day auction, so you think that it has been listed for four days and are the first to see it. They use Buy It Now and restrict it to preapproved bidders. So everyone emails them asking to be approved and he just says that he will end the auction early for you. So there are ten guys read to send money for this bike. Why would ebay provide escrow service to an auction ending early?
They will send fake emails with the ebay logo and the email address will be something like Ebay@westbubbafuck.com go to the website that is hosting this and it will be some foreign crap.

There are many more clues to spotting these scams, If in doubt ask someone else. Like your friends on Gixxer.com

gsxr313
08-11-2005, 01:05 PM
Well my scammer did reply afterall. He will not allow me to come pick up the bike with cash in hand. Fuckin' retard totally disregarded what I said...


My email to him:
"I'll fly out and pick this bike up this weekend (I work for the airlines and fly for FREE) with cash in hand. Give me an address and I'll be there. Thanks."

Scammer response:
"Sir, Square Trade take care of my bussines.For the delivery we will use the United Parcel Service and we will accept payment using the Western Union system managed by a third part service (Square Trade) as a guarantee. So please tell us if you are interested in my offer and if you want to start a transaction.I will support the shipping costs .Do you want to hear how we will manage this deal?
I wait your reply
Thank you"

brooks2005
08-11-2005, 01:19 PM
i am a police officer and dealt with a case in the past concerning sqaure trade. i posted on here about it. i'lls ee if i can find the post.

97GSXRRR
08-11-2005, 03:24 PM
If i may ask you what type of bike was it.Im dealing with a auction in Italy where the guy sold me a 2004 R1 black in color.Funny thing is your reply is the same as the one this guy sent me.Almost word for word.On the auction for the r1 he did not put a reserve on it and i won it for 20.00, He did have a buy it now for 2800.00 but i bidded on it instead.I have contacted Square Trade and they are looking into it but who knows.Bad thing for him i have found out where he lives and he does have a R1 at his house that is black in color.I have a good friend that lives there and is a computer nerd so he tracked his e mails and such.But for the time being i have got one of my lawer friends to do all of the hard legal work.I have been through this process before and if the person made the auction and it's fake or fraud they can be punnished if you catch them.I had a guy sell me a car,but the guy was running a scam and when he got busted by the police he went to jail and had to pay me max blue book of the car.I ended up getting 36000.00 out of him but it cost me only around 800.00 in legal fees.Get legal advice and go after him if you want.Maby you can be lucky and win.Just my 2 cents worth.

SVS
08-11-2005, 10:23 PM
Agree on all the indications on scam already mentioned. Also note this quote:


I didn't paid for Italy import taxes and if I'll keep the bike like that I'm going to lose it. Time is really an issue and we have to move fast.



If the laws on importing vehicles is similar to the ones we have here (probably are, both EU countries) he doesn't have to pay any import tax on a bike he already owns, so nobody is going to confiscate it... He has to pay vehicle tax to register it, but just to have it he doesn't... http://www.gixxer.com/forums/images/graemlins/wait.gif

It's just another way to make the buyer pay fast instead of spending time researching...