GSXR 1000 K2 Front Suspension Very Stiff - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-18-2017, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Garage
GSXR 1000 K2 Front Suspension Very Stiff

Hi all Suzuki GSXR Newbie here.

I have a bought a K2 with K4 forks fitted but find them very stiff. Previous owner weighed approx. 170 lbs and I weigh 240 in full gear so I expected to have to adjust preload to reach correct "rider sag". To my surprise found 25mm with no preload - great for smooth roads and bends but horrendous when bumpy and after approx. 50 miles over various road conditions including heavy braking found only using approx. 50 percent of that available even with compression damping reduced to zero.

If I understand correctly that means at best forks are over-sprung so need "softer" springs. At worst I may have a compression damping issue?

Should standard Suzuki front end be good enough for me alone - I will not be riding with pillion?
Any advice would be extremely welcome and much appreciated in advance.

Last edited by oldninjaron; 06-18-2017 at 02:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-19-2017, 04:19 AM
I know things... A lot of things.

Motorcycle: GSXR 750 K4
Re: GSXR 1000 K2 Front Suspension Very Stiff