Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

Back on a GSXR 600! So happy!

463 views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  le nitro 
#1 ·
I've been riding for about 6 years now. I bought a 2012 gsxr 600 brand spankin new and really enjoyed it for about 4 years, it’s what really got me into Motorcycles and kind of removed me from the car scene. Unfortunately I got bored of it, rode a friends Ducati Streetfighter and traded up for one of those (I got the deal of the century on a brand new one, so no questions and no complaining, and it’s my precious baby and you’ll have to pry me off that bike, it will stay with me forever and no future ex wife will ever make me sell it or take it from me).

Well the sportbike bug bit me, and I really missed having one. My buddy who let me keep the Ducati in his garage, had a gixxer 600 sitting out back that belonged to this girl who said she was going to fix it and did practically nothing with it. It had been sitting outside since the beginning of spring with a tarp thrown over it. It had basic maintenance done, and a lowering link put on.

She wanted to sell it to buy a 300 since it was too large for her! (She was quite literally no more than 5' tall) So I picked it up for super cheap, and what is supposed to be a winter project...has already turned into doing 75% of the work in 2 weekends. I've put a little over $300.00 minus tires and fairings into getting all the maintenance sorted and doing all the work myself and she's starting to ride wonderfully!