Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

Saddle bags for Sportbike?

57K views 38 replies 37 participants last post by  le skid 
#1 ·
Hey Guys,
I was jsut wondering if there are any nice saddle bags out there or even if they are out there. I have seen many tank bags but that isn't what I am looking for. I ask because I am a college student and once i get my bike I Do Not want my book bag on with all those books, hard objects, and impalable items on me if I were to crash. I cringe when i see other riders hitch up there book bags at school and jump on, and I read a horrible "What if" scenario on the Honda Board. Tank bags look nice, but I have short arms and think that it will be a pain riding with it infront of me. I am not looking for those hard leather ones that my dad has, I am looking for some nice ones taht will fit a few of my books in it and allow me to bungee my book bag to the seat. I appreciate your input and i was just curious.

LMAO I love this one I wish I had it on AIM

See less See more
#11 ·
... and in that time, I've since bought a set of Oxford saddlebags after seeing MPD's this summer. Really happy with 'em. They w*rk great. Had a difficult time finding a dealer that carried the Oxford line, most dealt with a very crappy looking updated Joe Rocket line.

#13 · (Edited)
my first suggestion is a ventura rack. i've got one of those on my bike, and scored a set of the old school front & back bags for the rack, and if i packed them full i could seriously carry a few days worth of clothes including a spare pair of shoes.

If only i had this bike & the rack when i did my weeklong roadtrip 3 years ago. I have saddlebags, which i used on that week long roadtrip. But i'd only use them nowdays for *extra* capacity if i had to, but i'd seriously try and avoid it if i could with this bike.

#19 ·
i can hook up my backpark to my backseat....