Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

K6 Gsxr 1000-(Questionable Trap speed?)

8K views 35 replies 8 participants last post by  fastoldguy 
#1 ·
So i went to the track this weekend for the fist time on my 2006 Gsxr 1000. I'm still learning the bike and was not expecting any world record times. My best run was a 10.51 @ 152mph. From everything i have read i was expecting to trap in the mid to low 140s.
Im only 145lbs so i thought i might get a little bit more Mph but not to be in the 150s. Just looking for some insight on where this mph came from?.

Only thing done to the bike is a Yosh slip on, and plus two in the rear.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
No way... That is crazy high.

FWIW, @oldgixxer and I took his old K5 1000 to the strip. He was running 9.6's in the 144-146 range, and his bike had a full exhaust, filter, and was mapped.

#3 ·
yea thats what I'm thinking . my prior run to this i trapped a 151 and i thought it might of been a error at the track, but then backed it up with the 152. i was wondering how much of a difference rider weight actually has on mph. Oh there was also a small tail wind that day.

#4 ·
Not that much... To trap 152 you would need a good amount more HP than a bike with just a slipon.

#6 ·
Lol,there is no way you picked up a legit 42mph in the back half,even with 200rwhp

#10 ·
Maybe... He did say maybe the PO did headwork, so maybe he is hiding stuff.

:dunno

#11 ·
lol The bike has no nitrous, i can barely manage the stock motor. I'm going to try get out to the track again this weekend and switch lanes. see if there is a difference. Only thing i can think of is the traps are not recorded accurately. It was at Toronto Motorsports Park in Ontario.

#12 ·
BTW,what gear are you crossing the traps in? I'm lazy and didnt watch the vid. And,are you lowered or stretched? I'd think +2 on the rear would be a handful. One of my K5s was a wheelie monster w +2 gearing

#13 ·