Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

Gravel...what is the best way to handle it?

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  pook750 
#1 ·
I'm relatively new to riding, about 6 - 7 months total now. I feel confident on my ride, and feel like I react well in most any urgent or emergency situation. I always keep my cool, stay relaxed, and make the move I need to make. But gravel...gravel will cause me to absolutely forget everything I know about riding. Not just gravel anywhere but specifically gravel in turns. It can be a lot or a little and I immediately freeze. How do you guys handle gravel in a turn, and what do you believe is the best way to keep your bike underneath you?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 ·
The best way to deal with gravel is to not ride on roads that have gravel on them, and if you are riding at sane street speeds, and see some gravel in a corner, you should have plenty of time to just avoid it.

Whatever you do, don't target fixate, because you will eat shit. Maintain your lean, and be smooth and controlled, and you will be fine. Again, at sane street speeds.

#3 ·
Sane street speeds is how I always ride, based on advice from all of you I'll save my need for speed for the track. I guess my biggest question how should you react if the gravel does cause you to slide? For the most part the gravel I'm talking about are just little patches of it in the occasional corner. I don't ever ride a road or corner much quicker than posted limits if I'm not familiar with. The roads I am familiar with I know which corners have gravel so I adjust going in. Thanks for the advice as always!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 ·
I ride through gravel and rocks almost every time I ride...New Mexico isn't the nicest pavement in the country...