Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750 - Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Sorry if that's a dumb question my last 2 bike were FI and did not have a choke.

This is on my 2000 gsxr 750
mjonesjr8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 07:02 PM
16.8@186.1
 
Zlow28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lower mexifornia
Posts: 1,925
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

i dont know much of your year bike, but im guessing its a less advanced fuel injection system. Might not be computer controled and requires a boost of fuel in cold starts. Does it have O2 sensors?? Maybe someone else can chime in

Free bump for ya
Zlow28 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 07:06 PM
not the powers that be ,not even close
 
600k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South NJ
Motorcycle: 600k2
Posts: 21,984
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Fast idle switch. The new bikes have an automatic fast idle for cold starts. If you crank our fast idle switches way up it becomes cruise control.
600k2 is online now  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 08:21 PM
Lets go racing!
 
Chugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: riding around Central Cal
Posts: 7,580
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by 600k2 View Post
Fast idle switch. The new bikes have an automatic fast idle for cold starts. If you crank our fast idle switches way up it becomes cruise control.
+2
Chugs is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 11:08 PM
Lifetime Premium

 
TwistedMister's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,960
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by 600k2 View Post
Fast idle switch. The new bikes have an automatic fast idle for cold starts. If you crank our fast idle switches way up it becomes cruise control.
yup, 99/00 busas had em too, this was before they came out with the electronic cold idle system, ferget what suzuki calls it but they have been upgrading that ever since

can be used for cruise control...
TwistedMister is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 12:44 PM
Squid
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

thers not an 02 sensor then wich is an open loop system.. closed loop system has 02 sensor and gives that info to the ecu makin it run rich. you have to do it manually therefore a choke is needed
gsxrfanatic123 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 04:16 PM
Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Coast California
Motorcycle: 01 GSXR 750
Posts: 59
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Please do explain how to make use of said "cruise control" switch ^_^ Do I need to adjust the cable play at all? hahaha
New2thegame is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 04:20 PM
Serial Comma Rapist Admin
 
Moto_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Macon Ga
Motorcycle: 2006 GSXR 600 Racebike
Posts: 117,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrfanatic123 View Post
thers not an 02 sensor then wich is an open loop system.. closed loop system has 02 sensor and gives that info to the ecu makin it run rich. you have to do it manually therefore a choke is needed
Not true at all.

The "choke" lever on an fi bike if so equipped does not change fueling at all. Rather it just opens the throttle plates a tiny bit for a higher idle speed.


Later models are still open loop but use auto high idle servos to do the job based on other engine sensors.
Moto_Joe is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 04:21 PM
Serial Comma Rapist Admin
 
Moto_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Macon Ga
Motorcycle: 2006 GSXR 600 Racebike
Posts: 117,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2thegame View Post
Please do explain how to make use of said "cruise control" switch ^_^ Do I need to adjust the cable play at all? hahaha
Yup. Adjust the cable at the throttle.bodies so that it raises the idle aot more and it will hold speed on highway if you adjust it right
Moto_Joe is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 06:10 PM
Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Coast California
Motorcycle: 01 GSXR 750
Posts: 59
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto_Joe View Post
Yup. Adjust the cable at the throttle.bodies so that it raises the idle aot more and it will hold speed on highway if you adjust it right
Sweet I'll have to test and see what speed it will hold me at right now. I assume that it's gear dependent as to what speed you'll hold. Time to ride, adjust, rinse and repeat till I find that sweet spot!


Last edited by New2thegame; 10-17-2012 at 06:13 PM.
New2thegame is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 09:41 PM
Serial Comma Rapist Admin
 
Moto_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Macon Ga
Motorcycle: 2006 GSXR 600 Racebike
Posts: 117,205
Re: Why a choke on an FI bike? gsxr 750

I had mine adjusted so that at 60-65 indicated it would hold wide open. That is about 70-75 real speed and worked fine.

Lower gears each will hold at a given speed, but much less useful
Moto_Joe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome