Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

GSX-R 600 Info needed Track - Stock

2K views 27 replies 11 participants last post by  poisonouschimp 
#1 ·
I picked up a 2001 gsxr 600 with 17k miles for 1600 bucks for my gf as a starter bike. The previous owners were a couple who took their bikes to the track and have done a lot of "track" mods to the bike.

Just a quick overview of the mods: GP shifter, power commander, fiberglass race body, headlight removal and pen light attached, different front end with upgraded suspension and bars, gsxr 1000 brakes, security pins all over.

One of my main concerns is that at low rpm ~3k at constant throttle you can feel air kick out of the air stack runners if you have the air box off. As a result of the popping at low speeds for a new rider it makes it a little difficult to ride. I have been riding for 5 years now and just use clutch control to smooth it out, but that takes time to learn to do. At higher speeds and rpm past ~5k the bike smoothes out and rides great. I took it up to 11k rpm and 100mph and there didn't seem to be any odd issues. There did seem to be a harsh on/off throttle kick when lane splitting ~ 7k rpm.

What I have noticed from inspecting the bike thus far is the REED valves have been removed and they have been welded shut. The Vacuum lines on the runners have been rerouted and one port has been capped off. The air box itself has many ports capped off. The secondary butterfly valves have been removed from the air inlet runners. When starting the bike up it requires a throttle blip to turn over as well as the throttle blip'd a few times to hold the idle and the idle is set around 800-1k.