Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

Dead electrics, 97 SRAD 750, Help!

2K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  Raging Tweety 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been working on an old 97 SRAD on and off for 4 years. The bike is on a race stand in my heated porch and hasn't moved. I have almost all issues with it fixed, I've replaced the oil hoses, fixed the fork seals, completely rebuilt the brakes and changed the lines, etc. But ... and I know it was aspirational ... I thumbed the starter for a fraction of a second and all electrics on the bike went completely dead :banghead (never even turned the motor over, but no burning smells or nasty sounds were noticed when it happened) -- and weirdly, this isn't the first time...

The first 3 times this happened (two of them last summer), the the electrics mysteriously came back on -- nothing I did -- some 12 to 36 hours later. :wtf Right now electrics are off -- no lights, no instruments, no parking light ... no sign of life at all. Couldn't be more dead if I took out the battery.

Here is what I've done/checked:
*The battery is fine
*Checked the main fuse and it's fine -- swapped it just in case.
*I inspected the connectors (opening them and looking) and didn't see obvious issues -- including the big ones on the left side of the bike, as well as those to the starter relay and regulator/rectifier. The bike hasn't moved, so I have no reason to think connectors would be the issue anyway.
*Inspected visible wiring and found nothing (admittedly a lot of it is wrapped with electrical tape, which could in theory be hiding something).
*I swapped out the starter relay -- this didn't help.
*The motor can be turned over by hand (rolling in 6th gear). Last time this happened, the bike recovered and the starter turned the motor over just fine with no further issues until now ... I thought at the time it was just a glitch from sitting that resolved itself.

Whatever is the cause: