Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

97 750 Budget Restore

2K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  short round 
#1 ·
I'm a novice mechanic looking to dive headfirst into my first bike project with a 97 black 750 I acquired off of a buddy who was getting out of the Marines. I'm not entirely new to bikes I've had a Kawi and Triumph Daytona 675 in the past but I am new to the mechanical work involved in bringing one back to life. My goal is to end up with a good project for the winter before I deploy again, hopefully resulting in either a stock work bike or possibly a bastardized street fighter.

Here is what I know for a fact about the bike.
Mechanically it was sound (previous owner claims) at last shut off but then sat for seven years in a garage in NC. I'll need to drain all fluids and replace the non existent battery. The brakes are completely seized and need to be bled to get the bike to roll better. I'm noticing a small bit of oil under the bike after having moved it to my garage and that needs to be identified. Cosmetically about 50% of the fairing bolts are missing along with the two holding the tank to the front.

Here is what I have no idea on.
Will bleeding the brake lines free up the stuck calipers or is more involved with them? I'm moving in three weeks and a rolling bike is less of a headache.

Can I realistically pull apart and clean calipers having never done so without damaging the brake system?

Do I need to plan on pulling the engine to replace gaskets before a start up attempt? Or is it acceptable to attempt a start up with new fluids having not done a rebuild?

The key will not open the gas tank. No amount of penetrating oil will get the key to engage the lock, it sticks at about 3 o clock. Is there something I'm missing? I have no reason to believe it is not the correct key.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·