Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

Return an 1100J to stock

2K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  javadog 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I bought an 88 that is in beautiful shape, but it looks like a hack went in there and dipped it in a bunch of Vance and Hines parts. I just want a bike that I can start up on a Saturday and go riding for an hour or so and then put it away. I'm not going to the track with it or riding crazy. I'm a Persian Gulf vet and this was the bike I wanted so badly when I graduated boot camp and I saved my pennies and finally found one. This thing is just about perfect but I want it to be more well behaved.

I want it to start and run and be able to go through town at 30mph without getting loaded up and running like crap. Ever since I've had this bike it only wants to run at 9K rpm with the throttle wide open. Here is what I've found that is obviously not OEM from pawing around on it.

V&H Powerpak 22351 box - the 4 dip switches in there I am sure are some kind of spark timing change or something. I imagine this replaced the OEM ECM.

There is a box up on the upper triple that has a pot in it and a relay. There are no part numbers on it, but it has numbers around the pot that could correspond to RPM, maybe this is a shift light or something but I've never seen anything flash at me to tell me to shift.

There is a pull switch on the shifter, maybe an ignition drop out for clutchless shifting.

There is a small ice cube relay in under the seat that is connected to the V&H box and has been spliced into the OEM wiring.

There is a toggle switch mounted on the left fairing by the tank that has 3 positions. I can't tell what it does.

So I'm thinking I want to turn this thing back to factory.

It is very rare to see one of these that looks like it came out of the showroom last week like this one does and so I would like it to be completely stock or as close as I can get to it without spending a ton.

Thanks!